Update TWRP and Sideload Pardus ROM on LG G2 (D802)

Last week I decided to try flashing a new custom ROM to my LG G2 (D802) Phone. In this post I will describe how I did this.

Remember that doing these things to your phone might brick it if you do not know what you are doing and that I’m not responsible if you decide to mess around with your device and end up bricking it. 

Before trying to recreate anything mentioned in this post, make sure to have the following

  • Common sence
  • Have adb installed
  • Have an LG G2 with custom recovery (TWRP) and a KK LG based ROM
  • Knowledge of the command line terminal (navigate trough maps and files)

My phone was already rooted and had an old version of TWRP installed.

That’s why before continuing, I first took a full TWRP backup and copied it to my computer. Next, I updated TWRP to the latest version to be compatible with the ROM that I wanted to flash.

Update TWRP 

Note that I already had a version of TWRP (2.6.x) installed, if your phone hasn’t been rooted and equipped with a custom TWRP recovery, look up a guide for doing this for your phone and software. 

To update TWRP, I downloaded the latest flashable update for D802 from here: http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/g2d802 (Since it wasn’t listed here  http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/197).

I placed the file openrecovery-twrp-2.7.0.0-d802.zip on my phone. (As the filename suggests, this is for LG G2 D802 variant only)

Next I rebooted into my TWRP Recovery and installed this zip file with TWRP.

To boot into recovery:

  1. Hold down Power and Volume Down buttons till it reboots.
  2. At the LG logo, let go of the buttons, then quickly press and hold the POWER button until the Factory Reset page appears.
  3. Press the Power button and you should be taken into TWRP.

Now try rebooting in recovery again and check the version to see if it worked.

Sideload ROM

With the latest TWRP in place and my system and all the data I wanted to keep fully backed up (on my computer – it’s import not to keep it on your phone, as we will wipe it clean). We’re ready to take the next steps!

First, choose the ROM you want to flash and make sure it’s compatible with your device.

I choose Pardus HD (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2582398)

Next up, you should do a FULL WIPE of your device in TWRP (Dalvik, Cashe, System & Data) – This is why we backed up everything on the computer in previous steps.

Since your device is empty now and doesn’t contain an OS to manage a data connection to your computer, we have to sideload the .zip File of the Rom we downloaded before. (let’s assume it is called Pardus.Zip)

To do this startup in TWRP Recovery and find the sideload function. (Advanced >ADB Sideload)

Next, if you have added a system variable for ADB, browse to the directory of where Pardus.zip is located in your windows terminal.

If you cannot invoke adb from any location, then just copy paste the Pardus.zip file to where your adb is located and then browse to that directory with the command line interface.

If all is correct, when you type “adb devices” you should see someting like this:

2014-05-20_181508

If that’s the case, type in “adb sideload Pardus.zip” (Pardus.zip being the name of the ROM you downloaded)

And the system will start loading the Rom to the phone’s memory.

If your previous ROM/software was JellyBean or AOSP Based, you should install KK Baseband aswell. (Haven’t tried this, not applicable for me)

Now Reboot your phone and if all is well you should see the Pardus boot animation right after the LG logo.

images

Give the system a few minutes to stabilize and were done!

Congratz! Go and have fun!

About Pardus ROM

Pardus ROM is Based on standard LG KK software, so don’t worry, you keep some of the LG functions you are so fond about and that are actually usefull (knock on, IR remote, Quicknote, QSlide,…). If you want All LG apps back, you can find them here: http://d-h.st/users/xanthrax/?fld_id=36312#files 

On top of this, this ROM comes with a bunch of extra features, including the Knock Code already available on some LG Flex models, hardware Tweaks, some layout tweaks here and there, Xposed and much much more. (for more info about pardus, check out the thread on xda http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2582398 )

I’ve been using this ROM for about a week now and I must say I’m very pleased with the result. So far I didn’t experience any unexpected behavior or crashed.

Kudos to pendroz and all other people who contributed to this solution!

 

Feel free to leave a comment or to add me on Twitter @RW_Spaf

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Android, LG G2
2 comments on “Update TWRP and Sideload Pardus ROM on LG G2 (D802)
  1. […] View original post here: Update TWRP and Sideload Pardus ROM on LG G2 (D802 … […]

  2. […] After completely wiping my device, I tried uploading the new ROM using ADB Sideload. (for more info see, previous post on Update TWRP & Sideload a ROM) […]

Leave a Reply

