Android Studio: aapt:error=2 no such file or directory

After installing the Oracle JDK on my Ubuntu System, I turned out that I was still not ready to start developing my first App in Linux.

Whenever I tried to get my gradle running, I stumbled upon the following error message in my console:

/Android/Sdk/build-tools/20.0.0/aapt": error=2, No such file or directory

Some research pointed out that the cause of this error is that “aapt” is a 32 bit application and since we’re running on a 64 bit Ubuntu distro, this does not work.

To fix this, some extra (compatibility) libraries had to be installed. To do this, execute the following two commands:

sudo apt-get install lib32stdc++6
sudo apt-get install lib32z1

After installing these, aapt should work!

If this post helped you, feel free to leave a comment or follow me on Twitter @RW_Spaf or Google+!

 

Sources:

https://teamtreehouse.com/forum/android44waapt-error2-no-such-file-or-directory

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/22701405/aapt-ioexception-error-2-no-such-file-or-directory-why-cant-i-build-my-grad

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Android, Development, Linux, Ubuntu

Leave a Reply

