OnePlus won’t charge after draining to 0%

Hi all, yesterday I ran into a curious problem with the OnePlus One phone.

After draining to 0%, I was unable to charge it again! If this happens you as well, there is no need to panic, apparently there are a lot of 1+ owners who run into this problem and like with most things, there is a fix.

Symptoms:

  • At first, my phone got stuck in boot loop when I tried to charge it.
  • Trying to turn it on did not work (the phone produced a vibration, but no screen light)
  • When I plugged in, it can also produce the screen that’s visible in this image.

=> The battery was dead, but refused to charge!

Fix:

Turns out the fix for this is quite easy as it does not require any technical skills, just a lot of patience as this problem (according to OnePlus) fixes itself after a certain amount of time. (source: reddit)

For me the scenario went as follows

08h30:

Oh noes, bootloop when trying to charge! 😦

08h30-09h30:

trying a lot things, booting in recovery, repeatedly plugging in & out, all without any luck or progress.

09h30 – 19h30:

Not touching the phone. For me this was the hardest part. During lunch I had a weak moment where tried to turn the phone on, with only a small vibration as result.  (I did not plug it in)

19h30

After waiting what seemed like an eternity, I plugged in the phone using it’s original charger. At first the Low Battery screen popped up for like 5-10 seconds before starting to charge again!! (similar as in this video)

Hurray!

19h30-20h30

To be sure, I let my phone charge some more before trying to turn it on.

20h30

Phone booted normally. More Hurray!

 

If you want to know more, there is also a thread on the OnePlus forums talking about this problem, this post includes the video previously mentioned with an example of this.

As far as I understood, this problem is not related the ROM you are running. (FYI: I was running Mahdi ROM at the time of the incident)

I assume this problem is caused by some sort of hardware protection mechanism for the Lithium Ion Battery that is build into the phone. (To low voltages might damage such a battery, that’s why the phone is prevented from booting). But of course I could be wrong.

If you ever run into this issue, I hope this post can help you in getting your phone back up and running (or at least reassures you that there is no need for panic).

If you liked this post, or it helped you out, feel free to leave comment or follow me on Twitter @RW_Spaf or Google+!

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Android, OnePlus One

Leave a Reply

