Unbricking my Huawei device

As mentioned in my previous post, nevertheless how easy restoring my Huawei G510 device to it’s stock state turned out to be, it still took a while before finding a decent explanation of how to do it. In this post, I will try to note down how I managed to revive my phone in a simple way.

This method worked for me on my Huawei G510 and chances are it will work for some other Huawei devices too.

First of all, if you’re in the same position as I was, don’t panic. All documentation that exists on the internet might seem a bit confusing and contradictionary  at first sight, but fixing my device turned out to be really easy in the end. That’s why I’m giving my own little reflection on how I did it.

So… Your device is in a boot loop… Now what?

There are a number of ways to fix your device, during my search I came across multiple options including something with Fastboot, Nandroid and so it seems a Normal or Forced update method. (If interested in how these work, I recommend viewing this post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=909243).

While searching for a solution that worked for me, I tried out the Fastboot method a number of times, but for some reason this method didn’t bring me the salvation I hoped for. Thinking back, this is most likely because I lacked the correct images to flash on it, didn’t take any backups or recoveries either and to be honest, I had no idea what I was doing. (maybe I still don’t)

The method that eventually worked for me was simply to download the official stock firmware of my Huawei phone, put it on an sd card and startup the phone pressing Vol +, Vol – And the startup button at the same time.

The trick here for me, was to find this correct firmware. I had tried this method before but if you lack the correct files, you’re not fixing your device.

Since a search on the english site of Huawei didn’t deliver me the files I was looking for (maybe I simple missed them, maybe they’re not on there, idk),  I decided to get them from the official chinese version of the site, using the translation feature in the Chrome browser to find my way.

This site can be found here => http://consumer.huawei.com/cn/support/downloads/index.htm

Looking for my phones firmware, I found 3 Hits, an Android 4.0 version, an Android 4.1  and some kernel version for the phone. I unzipped one one of the Android Firmware zips and what was inside was a dload folder with an update.app file of just over a Gb in size.

Following on of the procedures described in the xda forum post mentioned above, I put these files on my sd card in sdcard/dload/update.app and started the phone with Vol +, Vol – And the startup button at the same time and the phone did the rest.

Make sure you start the phone with all buttons pressed, starting using only Vol – and power might get you into fastbooth mode but wont automatically flash the firmware.

It seems like my phone is back up and running, however the chinese stock version seems to be for a dual sim version of the phone and it’s loaded with some standard Chinese applications, but that’s nothing a new custom ROM cannot fix 😉

So after all this, I ended up with my phone Unrooted, flashed with official Huawei firmware and without any of the Google Apps (Gapps)… Back to square one!

Possibly there a lot of more efficient ways of doing this, but as mentioned I’m still relatively new to this.

If this post helped someone, feel free to leave a comment. If you think I did something wrong or would have done it differently, also feel free to tell me 😉

 

Stay tuned for an update of how I re-rooted my device in a couple of days!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Android, Huawei G510

Leave a comment